Announcing the Long List for the

2014 Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize 




The Anatomy of Dreams by Chloe Krug Benjamin (Atria Books)


An Untamed State by Roxane Gay (Black Cat)

Byrd by Kim Church (Dzanc Books)

Cementville by Paulette Livers (Counterpoint)

The Enchanted by Rene Denfeld (Harper)

The End of Always by Randi Davenport (Twelve)

For Today I Am a Boy by Kim Fu (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Fourth of July Creek by Smith Henderson (Ecco)

The Girls from Corona Del Mar by Rufi Thorpe (Knopf)

The Great Glass Sea by Josh Weil (Grove Press)

The Invention of Exile by Vanessa Manko (Penguin Press)

The Kept by James Scott (Harper)

Land of Love and Drowning by Tiphanie Yanique (Riverhead Books)

The Land of Steady Habits by Ted Thompson (Little Brown and Company)

Life Drawing by Robin Black (Random House)

Radiance of Tomorrow by Ishmael Beah (Sarah Crichton Books)

Remember Me Like This by Bret Anthony Johnston (Random House)

Ruby by Cynthia Bond (Hogarth)

Saint Monkey by Jacinda Townsend (W.W. Norton & Company)

Shotgun Lovesongs by Nickolas Butler (Thomas Dunne Books)

The Sixteenth of June by Maya Lang (Scribner)

The Visionist by Rachel Urquhart (Little Brown and Company)

We Are Not Ourselves by Matthew Thomas (Simon & Schuster)

What Ends by Andrew Ladd (New Issues Poetry & Prose)

The Word Exchange by Alena Gradeon (Doubleday Books)

Young God by Katherine Faw Morris (FSG)



The Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize is awarded to the best debut novel of the year. Thanks to the generosity of Nancy Dunnan, the author of the winning book receives $10,000 and each shortlisted author receives $1,000. The 2014 Short List will be announced in September and the winner will be announced on December 9th at The Center for Fiction’s Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner at the New York Athletic Club. Learn more about the Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize here.