First Novel Prize

Announcing the Long List for

the 2018 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize





 America is Not the Heart by Elaine Castillo (Viking)

 by Lisa Halliday (Simon & Schuster)

Brass by Xhenet Aliu (Random House)

Confessions of the Fox by Jordy Rosenberg (One World)

The Devoted by Blair Hurley (W.W. Norton & Co.)

The Distance Home by Paula Saunders (Random House)

Freshwater by Akwaeke Emezi (Grove Press)

Girls Burn Brighter by Shobha Rao (Flatiron Books)

The Golden State by Lydia Kiesling (MCD/Farrar, Straus & Giroux)

If You Leave Me by Crystal Hana Kim (William Morrow)

Inappropriation by Lexi Freiman (Ecco)

Number One Chinese Restaurant by Lillian Li (Henry Holt & Co.)

The Parking Lot Attendant by Nafkote Tamirat (Henry Holt & Co.)

The Pisces by Melissa Broder (Hogarth)

A Place for Us by Fatima Farheen Mirza (SJP for Hogarth)

Pretend I’m Dead by Jen Beagin (Scribner)

Restless Souls by Dan Sheehan (Ig Publishing)

Sabrina by Nick Drnaso (Drawn & Quarterly)

Sadness is a White Bird by Moriel Rothman-Zecher (Atria Books)

Self-Portrait with Boy by Rachel Lyon (Scribner)

Song of a Captive Bird by Jasmin Darznik (Ballantine Books)

There There by Tommy Orange (Alfred A. Knopf)

Trenton Makes by Tadzio Koelb (Doubleday)

What We Were Promised by Lucy Tan (Little, Brown)

Whiskey & Ribbons by Leesa Cross-Smith (Hub City Press)

The Wonder That Was Ours by Alice Hatcher (Dzanc Books)



About the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize


Our First Novel Prize is awarded to the best debut novel published between January 1 and December 31 of the award year. The author of the winning book is awarded $10,000 and each shortlisted author recieves $1,000. 


Previous winners include Marisha Pessl, for Special Topics in Calamity Physics (Viking), Junot Díaz, for The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao (Riverhead/Penguin), Hannah Tinti, for The Good Thief (The Dial Press), John Pipkin, for Woodsburner (Doubleday/ Nan A. Talese), Karl Marlantes, for Matterhorn (Atlantic Monthly Press with El León Literary Arts), Bonnie Nadzam, for Lamb (Other Press), Ben Fountain, for Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk (Ecco/ HarperCollins), Margaret Wrinkle, for Wash (Atlantic Monthly Press), Tiphanie Yanique, for Land of Love and Drowning (Riverhead Books), Viet Thanh Nguyen, for The Sympathizer (Grove Press), Kia Corthron for The Castle Cross the Magnet Carter (Seven Stories Press) and Julie Lekstrom Himes for Mikhail and Margarita (Europa Editions)