First Novel Prize

Announcing the Long List for

the 2017 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize





All That’s Left to Tell by Daniel Lowe (Flatiron Books)


As Lie Is to Grin by Simeon Marsalis (Catapult)

Empire of Glass by Kaitlin Solimine (Ig Publishing)

Everything Belongs to Us by Yoojin Grace Wuertz (Random House)

Feast of Sorrow: A Novel of Ancient Rome by Crystal King (Touchstone)

Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders (Random House)

The Lucky Ones by Julianne Pachico (Spiegel & Grau)

Marlena by Julie Buntin (Henry Holt & Co.)

Mikhail and Margarita by Julie Lekstrom Himes (Europa Editions)

Motherest by Kristen Iskandrian (Twelve)

Murder on the Red River by Marcie R. Rendon (Cinco Puntos Press)

My Absolute Darling by Gabriel Tallent (Riverhead Books)

Rabbit Cake by Annie Hartnett (Tin House Books)

The Second Mrs. Hockaday by Susan Rivers (Algonquin Books)

Spaceman of Bohemia by Jaroslav Kalfar (Little, Brown)

Spoils by Brian Van Reet (Lee Boudreaux Books)

Temporary People by Deepak Unnikrishnan (Restless Books)

Tiger Pelt by Annabelle Kim (Leaf~Land LLC)

Time’s a Thief by B. G. Firmani (Doubleday)

What to Do About the Solomons by Bethany Ball (Atlantic Monthly Press)

Who Is Rich? by Matthew Klam (Random House)

The World of Tomorrow by Brendan Mathews (Little, Brown)



About the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize


Our First Novel Prize is awarded to the best debut novel published between January 1 and December 31 of the award year. The author of the winning book is awarded $10,000 and each shortlisted author recieves $1,000. 


Previous winners include Marisha Pessl, for Special Topics in Calamity Physics (Viking), Junot Díaz, for The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao (Riverhead/Penguin), Hannah Tinti, for The Good Thief (The Dial Press), John Pipkin, for Woodsburner (Doubleday/ Nan A. Talese), Karl Marlantes, for Matterhorn (Atlantic Monthly Press with El León Literary Arts), Bonnie Nadzam, for Lamb (Other Press), Ben Fountain, for Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk (Ecco/ HarperCollins), Margaret Wrinkle, for Wash (Atlantic Monthly Press), Tiphanie Yanique, for Land of Love and Drowning (Riverhead Books), Viet Thanh Nguyen, for The Sympathizer (Grove Press), and Kia Corthron for The Castle Cross the Magnet Carter (Seven Stories Press).