Announcing the Long List for the

2014 Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize 




The Anatomy of Dreams by Chloe Krug Benjamin (Atria Books)


An Untamed State by Roxane Gay (Black Cat)

Byrd by Kim Church (Dzanc Books)

Cementville by Paulette Livers (Counterpoint)

The Enchanted by Rene Denfeld (Harper)

The End of Always by Randi Davenport (Twelve)

For Today I Am a Boy by Kim Fu (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Fourth of July Creek by Smith Henderson (Ecco)

The Girls from Corona Del Mar by Rufi Thorpe (Knopf)

The Great Glass Sea by Josh Weil (Grove Press)

The Invention of Exile by Vanessa Manko (Penguin Press)

The Kept by James Scott (Harper)

Land of Love and Drowning by Tiphanie Yanique (Riverhead Books)

The Land of Steady Habits by Ted Thompson (Little Brown and Company)

Life Drawing by Robin Black (Random House)

Radiance of Tomorrow by Ishmael Beah (Sarah Crichton Books)

Remember Me Like This by Bret Anthony Johnston (Random House)

Ruby by Cynthia Bond (Hogarth)

Saint Monkey by Jacinda Townsend (W.W. Norton & Company)

Shotgun Lovesongs by Nickolas Butler (Thomas Dunne Books)

The Sixteenth of June by Maya Lang (Scribner)

The Visionist by Rachel Urquhart (Little Brown and Company)

We Are Not Ourselves by Matthew Thomas (Simon & Schuster)

What Ends by Andrew Ladd (New Issues Poetry & Prose)

The Word Exchange by Alena Gradeon (Doubleday Books)

Young God by Katherine Faw Morris (FSG)



About the 

First Novel Prize


The First Novel Prize is awarded to the best debut novel of the year. The author of the winning book receives $10,000 and the other shortlisted authors receive $1,000 each. The award is given annually at The Center for Fiction's Benefit and Awards Dinner. The Prize was originally established in 2005 as the John Sargent, Sr. First Novel Prize. Since 2010, the Center’s First Novel Prize has been known as the Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize, thanks to the very generous support of writer Nancy Dunnan, a member of the board of The Center for Fiction, in honor of her late father, Ray Flaherty, an Iowa writer. Ms. Dunnan passed away this year in August and, so this year the award will be given not only in honor of Ray Flaherty, but also for the first time in honor of Nancy Dunnan as well.