The Christopher Doheny Award

This award will recognize excellence in fiction or nonfiction on the topic of serious illness. The winner of the 2013 Award is Michelle Bailat-Jones for Fog Island Mountains. READ MORE

The Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize

The Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize is awarded to the best debut novel of the year. Last year's winner is Margaret Wrinkle for Wash. READ MORE

Maxwell E. Perkins Award

This Award honors an editor, publisher, or agent who over the course of their career has discovered, nutured, and championed writers of fiction. The 2014 Perkins Award winner is agent Nicole Aragi. READ MORE

Roger Shattuck Prize for Criticism

The annual Roger Shattuck Prize for Criticism is devoted to the support and encouragement of emerging critics. READ MORE

Our Annual Awards Dinner and Benefit


More than 300 people joined us on December 11 at The Union League Club to honor Robin Desser (far left) with the 2013 Maxwell E. Perkins Award and to hear the announcement of our Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize winner. The award went to Margaret Wrinkle (near left) for her novel Wash (Atlantic Monthly Press). Our speakers included honorary benefit chairs Sonny Mehta and Claire Messud, Master of Ceremonies B.J. Novak, and 2012 First Novel Prize winner Ben Fountain. READ MORE

New Books from Past First Novel Prize Shortlisted Authors


This Is How You Lose Her

Junot Díaz


This Close

Jessica Francis Kane



Paul Harding


Click here to

Read More>>

About Our Awards


We present four awards throughout the year to recognize excellence in fiction: The Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize, The Christopher Doheny Award, The Maxwell E. Perkins Award, and The Roger Shattuck Prize for Criticism.

The Flaherty-Dunnan and Perkins Award are presented at our Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner. The Shattuck Prize is presented at a special event.