The Annual Benefit & Awards Dinner


The Center for Fiction's

2018 Annual Benefit
& Awards Dinner

Tuesday, December 11th at The Cunard Building

Cipriani 25 Broadway, New York, NY

6:30pm Cocktails, 7:30pm Dinner

Festive Attire, Jacket & Tie Required


Lee Child & Michael Ondaatje 





for a Lifetime of Excellence in Fiction


With remarks by 

Oprah Winfrey

And honoring


Chairman and Editor-in-Chief
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group


Recipient of the Maxwell E. Perkins Award 
to be presented by 

 Carl Hiaasen


and announcing the





2018 Sponsorship Levels


Your sponsorship supports The Center for Fiction as the only nonprofit literary organization in the United States devoted exclusively to the art of fiction. Proceeds from our Awards Dinner are essential to sustain and expand our array of services: our public literary arts performances, featuring more than 150 authors annually; our content-rich website with a remarkable archive of discussions and readings; our fellowships and writing workshops for emerging talent; our reading and writing programs for more than 1,000 New York City Public School students each year; and our award-winning fiction library with a collection dating back to 1820.



If you were unable to attend, but would like to make a fully tax-deductible donation, you may do so by clicking the donate button below. 




Benefit Committee

ABRAMS/The Overlook Press

Clare Alexander

Amazon Literary Partnership


Nicole Aragi


Baker Literary Scouting

Gabrielle Bamberger

Julie Barer & Colson Whitehead

Victoria Barnsley, OBE

Elizabeth Birkelund

BKSK Architects

Bloomsbury Publishing

Albert Bonnier

Book of the Month

Leonello Brandolini d'Adda

Maria & Woody Campbell

Lee Child

Dr. Niki Elliot & Dr. Valorie Thomas

Ashley Farrish

Fletcher & Company

Mark Fowler & Jessica Kaplan

The Gernert Company

Wendy Gimbel &

Douglas Leibhafsky

Lynn Goldberg

Nan Graham


Leigh Haber/

O, The Oprah Magazine

Hachette Book Group

HarperCollins Publishers

Elizabeth Hawes & Davis Weinstock

International Creative Management

Tracey Jackson & Glenn Horowitz

Abigail Latour

Susanna Lea

Nikarah Long

Macmillan Publishers

James C. Marlas &

Marie Nugent-Head Marlas

Bahiyyah Maroon

Anne McDermid

Celia & Henry McGee

Susan Moldow

Calvert Morgan Jr. &

Cassie Jones Morgan

Bonnie Nadzam

Sara Nelson


Penguin Random House

Susanna Porter & James Clark

Jonathan Rose Companies

Ted & Mary Jo Shen

Simon & Schuster

Stephanie Thayer

Amanda Urban

John & Amy Weinberg

Writers House


Board of Directors

Erroll McDonald, Chairman
Wendy Gimbel, Vice-Chair
Celia McGee, Secretary
Nick Brumm, Treasurer 


Gabrielle Bamberger

Elizabeth Birkelund

Maria B. Campbell

Mark A. Fowler

Nan Graham

Calvert D. Morgan, Jr.

Sara Nelson

Susanna Porter

Elizabeth Hawes Weinstock

Gregory I. Voynow

Noreen Tomassi, Executive Director


Writers Council

Megan Abbott

Christina Baker Kline

Lee Child

Michael Cunningham

Jennifer Egan

Álvaro Enrigue

Louise Erdrich

Jeffrey Eugenides

Jonathan Franzen

Neil Gaiman

Francisco Goldman

Ann Goldstein

Rigoberto González

Edith Grossman

Joe Hill


Mitchell S. Jackson

N. K. Jemisin

Edward P. Jones

Owen King

Stephen King

Jhumpa Lahiri

Victor LaValle

Claire Messud

Walter Mosley

Bonnie Nadzam

Viet Thanh Nguyen

Julie Otsuka

Richard Powers

Richard Price

Roxana Robinson

Salman Rushdie

Esmeralda Santiago

Jonathan Santlofer

George Saunders

Jane Smiley

Gary Shteyngart

Kate Walbert

Jesmyn Ward

Meg Wolitzer

Jacqueline Woodson


2018 First Novel Prize Judges
Jeffrey Renard Allen

Julie Lekstrom Himes

Katie Kitamura

Rachel Kushner

Dana Spiotta


The Maxwell E. Perkins Award honors an editor, publisher, or agent who over the course of their career has discovered, nutured, and championed writers of fiction. This award is dedicated to Maxwell Perkins in celebration of his legacy as one of the country’s most important editors. FIND OUT MORE


The Center for Fiction First Novel Prize is awarded to the best debut novel of the year. The author of the winning book is awarded $10,000 and each shortlisted author receives $1,000. The shortlist and winner are chosen by a panel of five distinguished writers, including the previous year's winner of the prize.