The Christopher Doheny Award

This award will recognize excellence in fiction or nonfiction on the topic of serious illness. Now accepting submissions for the 2014 Award. READ MORE

The Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize

The Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize is awarded to the best debut novel of the year. Last year's winner is Margaret Wrinkle for Wash. READ MORE

Maxwell E. Perkins Award

This Award honors an editor, publisher, or agent who over the course of their career has discovered, nutured, and championed writers of fiction. The 2014 Perkins Award winner is agent Nicole Aragi. READ MORE

Roger Shattuck Prize for Criticism

The annual Roger Shattuck Prize for Criticism is devoted to the support and encouragement of emerging critics. READ MORE

Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner


The Center for Fiction's 2014 Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner will take place on Tuesday, December 9 at The New York Athletic Club. We will be honoring Nicole Aragi with the 2014 Maxwell E. Perkins Award and announcing the winner of this year's Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize. Our speakers will include honorary benefit chairs Jonathan Safran Foer and Colson Whitehead, Perkins Award presenter Nathan Englander, and 2013 First Novel Prize winner Margaret WrinkleFIND OUT MORE

Announcing the 2014 First Novel Prize Short List


We're pleased to announce our short list for this year's Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize. The short-listed writers will read from their books on the evening of December 8th at the Center for Fiction and the 2014 winner will be announced on the evening of December 9th at The Center for Fiction’s Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner in New York City, where last year’s First Novel Prize winner, Margaret Wrinkle, will present the award. Judges this year are Margaret Wrinkle, David Gilbert, and Tayari Jones. VIEW THE LIST


Tickets Now on Sale for the 2014 First Novel Fête!

Dec. 8, 6:30pm


Monday, December 8th is The Center For Fiction's First Novel  Fête, one of the great literary holiday parties in New York City. Enjoy readings by all of our 2014 Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize finalists, with a cocktail party to follow! FIND OUT more and purchase tickets

About Our Awards


We present four awards throughout the year to recognize excellence in fiction: The Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize, The Christopher Doheny Award, The Maxwell E. Perkins Award, and The Roger Shattuck Prize for Criticism.

The Flaherty-Dunnan and Perkins Award are presented at our Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner. The Shattuck Prize is presented at a special event.